SUTCLIFFE JUGEND and JUNKO (非常階段/HIJOKAIDAN) – Sans Palatine Uvula

Sans Palatine Uvula showcases the amalgamation of 2 pioneering artists of their respective genres: Power Electronics and Japanoise,
both whom have made their presence significantly felt (through sight
and sound) ever since the early 1980s in England and Japan. Sutcliffe Jugend and Junko (from 非常階段/HIJOKAIDAN)
are renowned artists in their own right, having been uniquely defined
in the experimental noise scene as innovators of sound through their
personal style of artistic expression that involves the churning of
audio mayhem through guitars, electronics and vocals.

This album sees Sutcliffe Jugend taking a step beyond as they push the envelope of sound progression to greater heights. Junko‘s piercing screams and squeals serve as a canvas for Sutcliffe Jugend
to work on and develop it further in their own innovative style. The
results demonstrate a very unique reconstruction of the shriek queen’s
original vocal outbursts, which see them being reworked and reinvented
separately through manipulative treatments of cut-ups, distortions,
samplings and introduction of other sonic elements.

This collaborative work between these two unique and respected
artists of different genres from East and West encloses the listener
with sonic chaos through its ten varied tracks. For some, it may seem
like a difficult album to digest at the first listen. However, the
tensions that have been separately produced from the harsh elements of
voice and sound eventually subside as they resonate with each other,
bringing forth a balanced unity of yin and yang.

Best Played Loud!

SUTCLIFFE JUGEND and JUNKO (非常階段/HIJOKAIDAN) – Sans Palatine Uvula CD (4iB 003):


1. Mouth Ripping (Sample)

2. Throat Ripper

3. Mouth Leak

4. Mouth Slipping

5. Lip Splitter

6. Sans Larynx

7. Throat Leak

8. Throat Slipper

9. Sans Palatine (Sample)

10. Tongue Splitter


– Gatefold CD Cover (Paintings by Kevin Tomkins)

– Inner Cardboard CD Sleeve

– 8-Page Booklet (Containing Images & Japanese/English Text Translated by Yuko UNDER)

– Individually Numbered

– Limited Edition 500 Copies

Price: 10.00€